Nevada can be an excellent state to execute your profession as a cosmetologist, especially when you consider the booming tourist industry in the state. However, if you wish to build a career as a cosmetologist in Nevada, you need the appropriate license. For more information about the Nevada cosmetology license and the requirements, please check the information below. Also, you can check out Nevada state board of cosmetology careers.
How to Become a Cosmetologist
A cosmetologist is a person who is an expert in beauty culture. A person with a cosmetology license from the state board of cosmetology and went to a school of cosmetology. A licensed cosmetologist provides beauty services such as nail care, facials and makeup in a beauty shop. They can be makeup artists and a nail technician. They underwent training in a cosmetology school to master this expertise in a cosmetology institute. These are the steps to get that Nevada state license from the Nevada board of cosmetology.
What Are the Requirements to Obtain a Nevada Cosmetology License?
To get your cosmetology license in Nevada, you need to have the right amount of training. This training can be acquired by attending an accredited beauty school.
In some states, you could get your cosmetology license through an apprenticeship program. However, the state of Nevada does not typically allow applicants to get their license through an apprenticeship program for many beauty professions. However, applicants for a cosmetology and electrology license could get their license through an apprenticeship program, since exceptions could be made for these professions.
How Many Education Hours Do I Need Before I Can Obtain a Nevada Cosmetology License?
To get your cosmetology license, you require a minimum of 1600 hours. However, the number of hours is different for different types of licenses. For example, if you require a hair designer license, you will need a minimum of 1200 hours. If you require and electrology license, you will need at least 500 hours. This is not negotiable in the cosmetologist board of Nevada.
Please note that the minimum amount of education hours must be obtained from an accredited school. Your school is, therefore, best checked before you start your course. Simply check the accreditation of your school or contact the Nevada Board of Cosmetology when in doubt.
How Do I Apply for the Nevada Cosmetology License?
To apply for the Nevada Cosmetology License, you must ask your current school to send proof of your education to the Nevada Board of Cosmetology. By sending proof to the Nevada Board of Cosmetology, you can participate in the National Cosmetology Examination and the Nevada Law Examination, which must be passed before you can obtain a license.
In addition to the proof sent to the Nevada Board of Cosmetology, applicants must also fill in the application request form and pay a fee of $15 to the Nevada Cosmetology Board. The money can be sent via money order, cashier’s check and credit card. Cash payments are not accepted.
Once you have submitted all of the documentation and received the approval of the Nevada Board of Cosmetology, you can enter the examinations.
What Can You Tell Me About the Examinations?
The examinations for the Nevada Cosmetology License are administered through PSI test centers. Each applicant has one hour and a half to complete questions about topics such as infection control, human anatomy, physiology, ergonomics, and more.
How much does it cost to take examinations at State board?
Applicants will be required to pay a fee for the written and the law examination; this usually amounts to a total fee of $50.
Nevada state board of cosmetology law test
For the law exam, applicants will also need to go to a PSI test center. The entire exam lasts 30 minutes and asks questions about the Nevada Revised Statutes Chapter 644 and Nevada Administrative Code Chapter 644.
Nevada state board of cosmetology practical exam
Cosmetology applicants must pass a practical exam too, which involves evaluating day-to-day tasks cosmetologists must execute. Therefore, they will be evaluated on skills such as client protection, thermal curling, haircutting, chemical waving and more.
For the practical examination, applicants are required to take their own mannequin head, hand, and supply kit. For more information about the supplies you must bring, please refer to the website of the Nevada Board of Cosmetology.
There is a Nevada state board of cosmetology practice test that an applicant can take. There are lots of them online or in an actual school. You can take the Nevada state board of cosmetology written practice test and the Nevada state board of cosmetology law practice test.
How Can I Get My Nevada Cosmetology License Through Experience?
As stated briefly earlier, it is possible for applicants to get their cosmetology license through experience, but there are some requirements connected to this path. Here is a brief overview of the requirements.
Firstly, applicants looking to obtain their Nevada Cosmetology License through experience must be a U.S. citizen or a lawful resident. The applicant must be at least 18 years old and must have completed 10th-grade education minimum.
To get their license through experience, citizens outside the state of Nevada need at least four years of working experience as a cosmetology apprentice, where they have executed cosmetology-related tasks. Residents of the state of Nevada need at least 3600 hours of experience as a cosmetologist’s apprentice. After your work experience, your employer must also fill in a Proof of Current Work Experience form and submit it to the Nevada Board of Cosmetology.
When Do I Need to Renew My Nevada Cosmetology License?
Nevada cosmetology license holders must renew their license every two years; this after the day their original license has been issued. Of course, renewing your license will be accompanied by a fee. Here’s the Nevada state board of cosmetology renewal process.
To renew your license, you will need to pay a fee of $70. However, the applicant also needs additional education before their license can be renewed, more specifically an additional 30 cosmetology education hours. This is different for other beauty professions, which only require 2 hours of continued education during the license period.
Before the applicant can renew the license, the applicant must be aware that continued education should be focused on courses such as infection control and working environment for clients. Unless these courses are under your belt as continued education, your renewal could be denied.
Can you alter a license?
No, That is against the law and punishable by the Nevada cosmetology board.
Nevada state board of cosmetology license verification
The Nevada state board of cosmetology can verify anyone who has an active license or certificate.
Can I Transfer a License from Another State to Get a Nevada Cosmetology License?
It is possible for license holders who have their license in another state to transfer their license to the state of Nevada. Naturally, these applicants must meet certain requirements and a fee must be paid before the license can be transferred to the Nevada licenses of cosmetology.
To get your license transferred to the state of Nevada, your current license must be in good standing in your current state. Applicants must also provide proof that they have passed an IC written exam, only then can the applicant apply for reciprocity for a Nevada Cosmetology License.
We also need to mention that even license holders in another state will be required to take the Nevada State law exam before their cosmetology license can be transferred. Applicants will also be required to pay an application fee of $325 to the Nevada state board cosmetology.
How do I open a school of cosmetology?
If you are now a successful cosmetologist and you want to give back and help other people achieve their dreams of having a license from the board of cosmetology Nevada then continue reading.
If you want to open a school for a cosmetology program approved by the state board cosmetology, then you here’s your checklist:
- Process the school-licensing
- Major requirements include getting an accreditation from the Department of Education in Nevada and then a license from the state board cosmetology.
- Identify your location
- Before you sign a lease, find out how much floor space is required to open a School of Cosmetology. In Nevada, it is for every 25 such students in attendance, at least 5,000 square feet of floor space.
- Prepare tools
- This is very important. A student must have the proper equipment to train.
- Employ instructors
Last but not the least, find qualified teachers. This way, you can offer an eligible Nevada state board of cosmetology study guide to the licensure exam.
How many hours required to provide as a student of cosmetology?
According to the cosmetology state board of Nevada, a student is required to have 30 cosmetology continuing education hours during the two-year licensure period for cosmetology instructors.
Final Thoughts on Nevada Cosmetology License
This is your ultimate guide to getting a cosmetology license from the state board of cosmetology in Nevada. Also, it includes a helpful guide to the Nevada state board of cosmetology license renewal.