Before you can work as a cosmetologist in the state of Minnesota, you will require a Minnesota Cosmetology License. To get this license, you must meet certain requirements and apply to the Minnesota Board of Cosmetology. To learn more about your application and the Minnesota Cosmetology License, please read the information provided below.
What Are the Requirements Laid Out by the Minnesota Board of Cosmetology?
Applicants seeking a Minnesota Board of Cosmetology License must have enjoyed the proper training at certified school; this school must be approved by the Minnesota Board of Cosmetology License.
Throughout your education, you must complete the required minimum education hours, as stated by the Minnesota Board of Cosmetology. For a Minnesota Cosmetology License, you will require at least 1150 hours of education.
Do I Need to Pass a State Exam Before I Can Acquire the Minnesota Cosmetology License?
Before you can obtain a cosmetology license for the state of Minnesota, you must sit an examination organized by the state board. Naturally, an application must be made to sit the exam first; this is considered the first step towards acquiring your Minnesota Cosmetology License.
A fee might be charged to sit the exams. If you have passed the exams laid out by the Minnesota Board of Cosmetology, then you will be required to pay an additional $139 for your first license. Once you’ve received your license, you can execute your profession as a cosmetologist.
Where Can I Find the Application Forms for the Minnesota Cosmetology License?
The application forms for the Minnesota Cosmetology License, but also the application forms for license renewals, can be found on the Minnesota Board of Cosmetology website. On this website, you can also find application forms for other beauty professions and forms for license transfers from outside the U.S.
Do I Have to Renew My Minnesota Cosmetology License After Acquiring It?
Like most states, the Minnesota Cosmetology License needs to be renewed after a pre-determined period. After obtaining your license, it will expire after a three-year period, more specifically one day after your birthday.
To ensure your license stays up-to-date, it is essential to apply for a renewal a least thirty days before your license is set to expire. To renew your license as a cosmetologist, you will be required to pay a fee of $81. If you are looking to renew your license as a cosmetology manager or instructor, you will be required to pay a fee of $114.
If you are late to renew your license, an additional fee of $45 will be charged to you. To ensure your application is approved on time, you will also require proof that you have enjoyed continued education during the time you held your license; this is referred to as CE units.
Three of the total hours of continued education required for the cosmetology license must be in the field of safety and sanitation. The remain continued education must be focused on current laws and statutes. If the cosmetologist cannot provide this information, their request for a renewed license will be denied.
To ensure you have completed the correct continued education hours, please check current CE providers on the Minnesota government website. The Minnesota Board of Cosmetology provides an accurate list of accredited providers, so be sure to check if your provider is mentioned in the list. When in doubt, you can also contact the Minnesota Board of Cosmetology.
Can I Transfer an Out-of-State License to the State of Minnesota?
It is possible for working cosmetologists to transfer their license to the state of Minnesota. However, license holders must meet certain requirements before they can transfer their license to work in Minnesota.
If you currently hold a license in another state, you must provide the Minnesota Board of Cosmetology with proof of your license. Additional documentation will be required too; this includes your high school diploma, and proof that you completed your exams.
In addition to the documentation proving your experience and education as a cosmetologist, you will be required to fill in an application for reciprocity; this is the application required to transfer your license to Minnesota. The application is also accompanied by a fee of $195 that must be paid to the state of Minnesota.
We need to mention that the verification letter of your licensure has a limited period, more specifically 90 days. If you exceed this period for your application, you will be required to obtain another verification of licensure from your home state.
What Happens If I Do Not Have Enough Education Hours to Obtain a Minnesota Board of Cosmetology?
License holders who do not have enough hours to meet the minimum requirements of the Minnesota Board of Cosmetology could be asked to take additional education hours before they can transfer their license to the state of Minnesota.
If an applicant must take additional education, they get the choice of taking that education in their home state or in the state of Minnesota. Differences can also be made up by having at least three hours of work experience in your home state.
To ensure you can transfer your license to the state of Minnesota, you require a minimum of 1550 training hours for a cosmetology license. Please note that other licenses have different requirements, more specifically 600 hours for estheticians and 350 hours for nail technicians.
How Can I Make Sure My Application Is Approved?
To ensure your Minnesota Cosmetology License application is approved, it is vital to enter all the information on the form correctly. You must also make sure that you meet all the requirements, because not meeting the requirements could cause a decline of your license application.
For more information on the Minnesota Cosmetology License, please refer to the official website of the Minnesota Board of Cosmetology. When in doubt about your application, always contact the board first before you apply, since this could prevent you having to pay another fee for a failed application.